The Muslim Council of Britain is a democratic body whose members include Britain’s mosques and Islamic associations. As set out in its Constitution, the decision-making and ruling body of the Muslim Council of Britain is its General Assembly that must meet at least once a year. The Assembly is comprised of delegates from affiliated bodies. Every two-years the General Assembly of the Muslim Council of Britain elect the Secretary General, Deputy Secretary General, as well as the National Council.

The Secretary General and the Deputy Secretary General are elected by delegates at the Annual General Meeting for a two year-term. The Secretary General can only serve for a maximum of two terms. The Office Bearers for the 2016-2018 session are: Mr Harun Rashid Khan, Secretary General Dr Omer El Hamdoon, Deputy Secretary General Talha Ahmad, Treasurer Mr Miqdaad Versi, Assistant Secretary General Dr Walaa Ramadan, Assistant Secretary General Ms Zara Mohammed, Assistant Secretary General Mr Navshir Jaffer, Assistant Treasurer Advisors Dr Akber Mohamedali Mrs Unaiza Malik Sir Iqbal Sacranie OBE Dr Muhammad Abdul Bari MBE Judge Khurshid Drabu CBE Dr Jamil Sherif Professor Iqbal Asaria CBE Executive Committee Members
Mr Harun Rashid Khan Dr Omer El Hamdoon Dr Shuja Shafi Dr Jamil Sherif Mr Miqdaad Versi Dr Walaa Ramadan Dr Akber Mohamedali Mr Talha Ahmad Mr Hassan Joudi Professor Iqbal Asaria Judge Khurshid Drabu Mr Navshir Jaffer Mr Muhammad Adrees Sharif Mr Asif Hussain Mr Khalid Sofi Dr Muhammad Abdul Bari MBE Sir Iqbal Sacranie OBE Mrs Unaiza Malik Ms Zara Mohammed